Preparedness Academy

Neighborhood helpers in vests and hardhats next to grill

Disaster First Aid


Learn skills and get hands-on experience in how to perform immediate triage, and use disaster first aid following an event. A First Aid Certificate is awarded, no CPR unless indicated at registration. Recommend taking CPR before this class. All classes are on Saturday.
Neighborhood helper speaking with individual

Psychological First Aid


People's reactions to crisis vary. Learn which reactions are harmful and how some are actually beneficial. Take away some important tools you can use to connect with affected people and provide immediate emotional support following an emergency.
Young boy in hardhat on phone

Communications -
Radio


Understand the basics of using radio communications in a disaster and get hands-on practice with others in the group. This is a great way to get comfortable using the “walkie-talkie” style of communication in a disaster. Information on how to get a HAM license is included.
House

Earthquake Retrofit

Homeowners can take steps to reduce the earthquake hazard to their homes. Learn about home retrofitting as a mitigation process for protecting your house. Be ready for the Big One and learn about, home evaluation, permit process, proper bolt and plate installation and engineering solutions.
Schedule Schedule Schedule Schedule
Time: 8:30 a.m. - 5p.m.
             
April 22, Sat. Pierce
 County EOC 
 2501 So. 35th St, 
Tacoma

June 10, Sat. Buckley
Fire and  Rescue
611 Division St, Buckley

October 28, Sat. Gig Harbor
Nov 4, Sat. BonneyLake
 
Nov 18- Puyallup
Time: 6 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

April 8, Sat. The Chapel,
 37117 103rd Ave. Ct. E.
 Eatonville

May 23, Tues. Puyallup Library

Sept 12, Tues. University Place

October 10, Tues. Gig Harbor

November 7, Tues Graham 
Fire Station 94 -23014 70th 
Ave East Graham
 
Time: 6 p.m. - 8 p.m.

April 10, Monday-401
Washington Ave SE,
Orting OVFR and City Police 
Station meeting room.

October 26,Thurs. Gig Harbor

November TBD- Bonney Lake
Time 6:30 p.m.- 8p.m.
 
April 5, Wed. Puyallup Library

May 17, Wed. Eatonville

October TBD University Place
REGISTER REGISTER REGISTER