Filing an Anti-harassment Protection Petition

Defining Harassment

Washington state law (RCW Chapter 10.14) defines unlawful harassment as a knowing and willful course of conduct directed at a specific person which seriously alarms, annoys, harasses or is detrimental to such person and serves no legitimate or lawful purpose. The course of conduct shall be such as would cause a reasonable person to suffer substantial emotion distress, or when the course of conduct would cause a reasonable parent to fear for the well-being of their child.
Under Washington law, "course of conduct" means a pattern of conduct composed of a series of acts over a period of time, however short, evidencing a continuity of purpose. "Course of conduct" includes the sending of an electronic communication, but does not include constitutionally protected free speech. An individual may request an order of protection that may prohibit harassment, contact and restrain the person (respondent) from coming within a specific distance of one's residence, workplace or school.

Transfer of Harassment Cases

Under recent amendments passed by the Washington State Legislature in 2011, the District Court has original jurisdiction over these actions. However, the District Court must transfer such petitions to the Superior Court when it is shown that:
  • A - The respondent to the petition is under 18 years of age
  • B - The action involves title or possession of real property
  • C - A superior court has exercised or is exercising jurisdiction over a proceeding involving the parties
  • D - The action would have the effect of interfering with a respondent's care, control or custody of the respondent's minor child

Filing for a Protection Order

First, review the harassment and stalking protection order worksheet.
You may complete the interview process for an antiharassment petition online. Please review additional information on the eServices page.

After you complete the petition online, you will be given a confirmation number. You must appear at the Operations Division (CCB) Public counter (930 Tacoma Ave. S. Room 239, Tacoma, WA 98402) within 72 hours and with your confirmation number to pay a fee of $98 (the $83 filing fee plus $15 for three certified copies), receive a copy of your petition and schedule your court appearance.

Antiharassment petitions must be filed by 10:30 a.m. the day you would like to go to court. Any filings after 10:30 a.m. will be seen the next business day. Antiharassment filings are not accepted after 3:00 p.m.

After you submit the petition online, you will be given a confirmation number. You must appear at the Public counter (Room 239 at the CCB) within 72 hours with your confirmation number to pay the filing fees outlined below and receive a copy of your petition. A court date will be scheduled, which is usually the same day as you appear at the counter. Your Petition will not be processed until you appear at our public counter.


You will need to know the full name and address of the person you claim is harassing you and any other identifying information about the individual such as date of birth, driver's license number, etc. It will take you about one hour to complete the required forms.

The total fees are $98 ($83 filing fee plus $15 for certified copies). The filing fee for an antiharassment order is $83, which will not be refunded if the petition is not granted by the judge. In addition to the filing fee, you will need three certified copies of the order, which will cost you $15. The filing fee and certified copy costs must be paid by cash or credit card. Personal checks are not accepted. In some circumstances the District Court will waive the filing fee and costs. If you want the court to consider a waiver of fees, you must give the court detailed information about your income and expenses to justify the waiver. A fee waiver is not automatically granted by the judicial officer.

Know when your protective order is served


Washington Protective Order Service PDF